State Representative Jan Tankersley will not seek re-election

State Rep. Jan Tankersley (R-Brooklet), chair of the House Intra-Government Coordinating Committee, announced today that she will not seek re-election in the Georgia House of Representatives.

She will continue to serve the remainder of her current term, which will expire when the Georgia General Assembly convenes for the 2023 legislative session.

“First and foremost, I am honored and grateful for the trust the people of Bryan and Bulloch County have placed in me to represent their interests on Capitol Hill for the past decade, because it has truly been an honor. “said representative Tankersley. “I have made the difficult decision not to represent myself after long reflection, prayers and many conversations with my family. One of the greatest honors I have had while working under the Gold Dome is to serve the I represent in my district and to connect constituents with the appropriate agencies or services to resolve their concerns. Being chair of the House Intra-Government Coordinating Committee has also been a huge responsibility that I have always taken seriously, especially as we have seen a massive increase in the volume of bills passing through this committee.I am grateful to be spending this past legislative session overseeing critical local legislation introduced on behalf of our local governments.

“Rep. Tankersley has been a great leader in our state,” Speaker David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge) said. “In the House, she has built a reputation for fairness, honesty and hard work. “The House is losing one of its finest, and I am losing an esteemed Speaker and a very dear friend. I wish him and Hughie the best as they enjoy their retirement together.”

Rep. Tankersley has spent 26 years in public service at the state, county and city levels of government, and she is the first elected female state representative in House District 160.

As chairman of the House Intra-Government Coordinating Committee, Rep. Tankersley is responsible for overseeing all local laws or bills that primarily affect a single political subdivision, such as a city or county. This committee is also responsible for general legislation affecting a variety of subjects, including local governments. Following the arrival of 2020 U.S. Census data last fall, this committee has seen an influx of local redistricting legislation for the Georgia County Commission and school districts.

Rep. Tankersley is also currently a member of other vital House committees, such as the House Appropriations and House Rules Committees. She was also secretary of the rural caucus and a member of the sports caucus.

In 2000, she was the first woman elected to the Bulloch County Board of Commissioners, where she served for 10 years and served as president of the Georgia County Association of Commissioners. During this time, she worked to support the region’s agribusiness industries, expand transportation and recreation opportunities for local residents, and strengthen the region’s public safety infrastructure.

Rep. Tankersley was also elected to Brooklet City Council in 1995 and 1999, where she helped secure grants for the Brooklet Community Recreation Building, improve the city’s water system, and secure the property which then went was converted into the present City Hall building. .

Throughout her tenure in public service, she has received a number of accolades, including being named one of Georgia Trend Magazine’s “100 Most Influential Georgians.” She has also been part of several government and service-oriented organizations and has been selected to attend a large number of government leadership training courses.

Representative Tankersley hails from Bulloch County. She and her husband have two children and three grandchildren.

Representative Jan Tankersley represents the citizens of District 160, which includes parts of Bryan and Bulloch counties. She was elected to the House of Representatives in 2010 and is currently Chair of the Intra-Government Coordination Committee. She also sits on the Economic Development Appropriations Subcommittee and the Agriculture and Consumer Affairs, Health and Human Services, Natural Resources and Environment, and Rules Committees.


Source link