Primary results certified, key races head to second round

Seven candidates have been elected to countywide positions, two oil referendums have failed and seats on the supervisory board are still up in the air, final results of the June primary showed Thursday.

Turnout hit just over 40%, which Ventura County Registrar of Electors Mark Lunn called a very good result for a midterm primary election. The county’s turnout was 7 points above the state average of 33%.

Lunn certified the election a week before the July 7 deadline.

He said the election went “very, very well”, adding that there were no “big snafus”.

The June 7 primary also marked the first time the county has held an election under the full terms of the Voters’ Choice Act model, which provides fewer places for voters to vote in person than just one. with traditional polling stations. But polling centers were open for 11 days instead of just one, and all registered voters received ballots by mail.

Both oil referendums would have improved environmental reviews for drilling projects in unincorporated areas of the county, but each failed by about 5 percentage points. Measure A, which applied to coastal areas, failed by 52.5% to 47.5%. Measure B, which concerned interior areas, lost almost the same margin – 52.8% to 47.2%.

All winners of contested countywide offices were decisively elected.

  • Assessor: Keith Taylor, 74.7% of the votes against Bradley Coburn at 25.3%.
  • Clerk and Archivist: Michelle Ascencion won with 63.4% of the vote. Jeff Hargleroad drew 32.5% and Bruce Boyer 4.1%.
  • District Attorney: Named incumbent Erik Nasarenko, 57.4%, v. Senior District Attorney John Barrick, 42.6%.
  • Sheriff: Jim Fryhoff, 57% over incumbent Bill Ayub at 43%.
  • Treasurer-Collector: Sue Horgan, 68%. His opponent Ron Speakman drew 32%.
  • Auditor-Controller Jeff Burgh and Superintendent of Schools Cesar Morales were elected unopposed.

Two seats on the supervisory board were eliminated in the November 8 general election, as no candidate garnered more than 50% of the vote.

In the race for the Second District seat, Thousand Oaks Councilwoman Claudia Bill-de la Peña faces off against former lawmaker Jeff Gorell for the right to represent an area covering the Conejo Valley and part of Camarillo. The final primary results show the councilwoman with 47.3% and Gorell at 37%. Business owner and conservative lawyer Tim McCarthy finished out of the running at 15.7%.

In the Fourth District contest to represent the Moorpark-Simi Valley area, Moorpark Mayor Janice Parvin and college administrator Bernardo Perez advanced to the second round. Parvin received 32.8% of the vote against 26.5% for Perez. Candidates Ed Abele at 24% and Dean Kunicki at 16.6% were eliminated.

Winners of countywide positions take office in January, unless an incumbent resigns.

Several regional candidates for state and federal office are also expected to qualify for the general election.

In one of the most watched races in the U.S. House of Representatives, Democrat Julia Brownley and Republican Matt Jacobs are vying for the county’s 26th District seat. Democrat Salud Carbajal and Republican Brad Allen are running in the 24th District, which includes a small portion of Ventura County.

In State Assembly, Democrat Steve Bennett takes on Republican Cole Brocato while Democrat Jacqui Irwin takes on Republican Lori Mills.

Kathleen Wilson covers Ventura County government, including the county’s health care system, politics, and social services. Contact her at or 805-437-0271.

Source link