Primary Election Results for Macoupin County – Enquirer Democrat

Investigator ~ Democratic Reporter

The Illinois primary was held on Tuesday, June 28 for state and local offices. Of the 31,893 registered voters in Macoupin County, only 6,082 ballots were cast.

Democratic nominations

Tammy Duckworth has been nominated for US Senator.

JB Pritzker and Juliana Stratton were appointed Governor and Lieutenant Governor.

Kwame Raoul has been appointed state attorney general.

Alexi Giannoulias obtained the majority of votes for the post of Secretary of State, with 50.1% of the votes. The vote for the Democratic nominee for Secretary of State was split among four candidates. Anna Valencia received the second highest number of votes with 30.75%.

Susana Mendoza was named state comptroller and Michael Frerichs was named state treasurer.

Nikki Budzinski received the nomination for the 13th congressional district representative.

Pam Monetti has been named the 13th member of the congressional district committee.

Locally, many races were uncontested on the Democratic ticket.

Pete Duncan was named County Clerk and Recorder, Roger Anderson was named County Treasurer, and Shawn Kahl was named Sheriff of Macoupin County.

The 4th District’s race for county board member had two candidates to be the Democratic nominee, Mark Dragovich and Kellie Vesper. Dragovich, who currently sits on the board, received the nomination with 56.64% of the vote.

The Dorchester committee member seat had two people running. James Goltz won the nomination, receiving 54.05% of the vote.

Republican appointments

Peggy Hubbard received the Republican nomination for US senator with 33.49% of the vote.

Darren Bailey and Stephanie Trussell were named governor and lieutenant governor of Illinois, with 68.58% of the vote.
Thomas DeVore was nominated as the candidate for state attorney general, receiving 53.08 percent of the vote.

Dan Brady won the race for Secretary of State.

Shannon Teresi and Tom Demmer won the nominations for state comptroller and state treasurer, respectively.

Regan Deering was named 13th Congressman; Representative of the district, obtaining 38.84% of the votes. The race for the 13th arrondissement was split between four candidates on the Republican ticket.

Jill Tracy was named state senator for the 50th district and Steven McClure won the nomination for the 54th district.

Christopher Davidsmeyer and Wayne Rosenthal received the nominations for state representatives in the 100th and 108th districts respectively.

Lillian McGartland received the Republican nominee for county treasurer and Jared DePoppe was nominated for the county sheriff’s race.

Ross Adden was appointed as a County Council Member for the 4th District.

A proposal to close Lincolnwood Junior High School and send that school’s students to Morrisonville CUSD #1 was also on the ballot. The majority of votes went to school closure, 54.55% of voters voted for school closure, 45.45% voted against.

Source link