Outgoing Somerset Councilors Lead New Nominations | Local news

As the local county clerk’s offices prepare for the Christmas break, the number of candidates who will appear in the May 2022 primary ballot continues to rise.

In Pulaski County, the new files include a number of incumbents seeking re-election.

With Brian Dalton (Ward 2), Jimmy Eastham (Ward 4), David Godsey (Ward 10) and Tom Eastham (Ward 12) handing over all their papers; all the incumbents of Somerset City Council have now called for re-election. In Ward 11, Amanda “Bean” Bullock “becomes the first to face a challenger in non-partisan council races with the filing of Teresa Singleton.

In addition, TW Todd, a longtime PVA (Property Valuation Administrator), has applied for a 7th term.

Other new application files from the Pulaski County Clerk’s Office include:

• District 2 Magistrate – Skip Norfleet, a Republican from Science Hill, becomes the first candidate in this race with incumbent Mike Wilson yet to file.

• District 3 Magistrate – Incumbent Republican Jimmy Wheeldon now has a challenger in former Somerset City Council member Mike New of Somerset.

• District 5 Magistrate – David Sparks, a Republican from Somerset, becomes the first candidate in this race with incumbent Mike Strunk yet to be deposed.

• District 2 Agent – William Caudill, a Republican from Eubank, becomes the first candidate in this race with incumbent Shane Haste yet to file.

• District 4 Agent – Republicans Doug Baker and Christopher Staley are vying for the post vacated by the late Gary Baldock.

At the federal level (with candidates filed for the Secretary of State’s office in Frankfurt), the number of candidates vying to topple Junior U.S. Senator from Kentucky Rand Paul has doubled since the last report. Joshua Wesley Blanton Sr. and Ruth Gao, both of Louisville, join Charles Booker and John Merrill on the ballot for the Democratic nomination. Senator Paul, a Republican, has yet to seek re-election, but the GOP nomination is sought by Valerie “Dr Val” Fredrick of Murray and Tami L. Stainfield of Marion.

Congressman Hal Rogers, whose 40 years in the 5th arrondissement is a record for the US House of Representatives, has a new Republican challenger in Brandon Russell Monhollen of London. They will be joined on the ballot by Dr Richard Van Dam and Gerardo Serrano.

At the state level, incumbent Republican David Meade of Stanford has run for reelection in the 80th district of the Kentucky House of Representatives – for which he is currently President Pro Tem. The district includes Lincoln County and the Pulaski precinct of West Somerset 5B, Saline 11, Somerset 3B Library, Girdler 12, Ansel 21, Buncombe 24, Somerset 1 Library, Somerset 3A Huffaker, Mt. Zion 47, Eubank 25, Estesburg 26, Somerset 2 Town Hall, Somerset 4A Rocky Hollow, Somerset 4B Meece Middle, Somerset 5A Langdon Street, Ferguson 8, Somerset 5E Grand Central and Somerset 6 South End.

The deadline for submitting applications for offices that may have a primary is January 7, 2022 at 4 p.m. local time. It is the same deadline for independent, political group or political organization candidates for offices that require a declaration of candidacy but will not appear on the ballot until the general election in November.

Locally, the Pulaski County Clerk’s office will be closed on December 23 and 24 for Christmas as well as December 30 and 31 for New Years Day.

This latest holiday closure is particularly important because the deadline for registered voters who wish to change parties before the next primary – set for May 17, 2022 – must do so before December 31. As long as mailed registration cards are stamped by December 31st. , according to Becca Shepherd, director of the electoral department, they will be accepted. However, anyone wishing to come in person after Christmas should do so next Wednesday.

Those interested in becoming a candidate for any post can find more information on the State Secretariat’s “Elections” online portal at sos.ky.gov.

Source link