Ohlmeyer wins votes for TCDSU provost election – The University Times

Professor Jane Ohlmeyer won the Trinity College Dublin Student Union (TCDSU) votes for this year’s provost election.

The union – which has six votes in total – today announced the results of its referendum on who its representatives would vote for in the provost elections.

Ohlmeyer won in the second round of scoring, after RON and Professor Linda Hogan were eliminated. She passed the quota of 498, with a total of 515 votes. The number of valid polls was 994. Professor Linda Doyle finished second with 452 votes.


Union council members of the university and college council vote en bloc in the election, which has more than 850 voters.

Ohlmeyer drew a lot of attention last month when she said Trinity would have to host two Trinity Balls next year to make up for balls missed by students due to the pandemic.

Next week is the last week of the Marshal’s election campaign, with voting taking place on Saturday April 10. Candidates have been campaigning – virtually – since February. There will be a final campaign on Wednesday April 7, with the moderator to be confirmed.

The Graduate Students Union (GSU) preferendum for its four votes in the election will take place April 6-8.

She was previously Director of the Long Room Hub until last year, after being elected in 2015. She is also a member and expert in Irish and early modern British history, holding the title of Professor of History modern Erasmus Smith at Trinity. She is also President of the Irish Research Council.

Ohlmeyer has proven to have a penchant for attracting funding for research projects, having previously secured € 1million from the Irish Research Council for the Humanities and Social Sciences, the Arts and Humanities Research Council and Trinity to digitize and publish online the “1641 depositions”, compromising the transcripts of the 8000 depositions, examinations and associated documents of Protestant men and women following the Catholic rebellion of October 1641.

Provost Patrick Prendergast will end his term on July 31, and the next Trinity chief will take the reins the next day.

The mission is broad: a 10-year tenure at the helm of Ireland’s most prestigious university, directing its academic, administrative and financial affairs.

Correction: 7:56 p.m., April 5, 2021
An earlier version of this article did not mention that Professor Jane Ohlmeyer only exceeded the quota after the elimination of RON and Professor Linda Hogan. This error was made due to an error in the communication of results by the TCDSU.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.