Eight candidates in the Swakopmund by-election

SWAKOPMUND- An independent candidate and seven political parties will face each other in the Swakopmund constituency by-election scheduled for August 12, 2022.

The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN), in the presence of the candidates and their party representatives, closed nominations for political parties and independent candidates on Saturday at 11:00 a.m. The by-election came after the IPC in May this year expelled its former member Ciske Smith-Howard, who served as an adviser.

ECN coordinator for Erongo, Amos Nguaiko, said the registration process was very slow at first, but accelerated last week when all political parties submitted their applications.

He added that the ECN did not encounter any problem during the nomination and registration process.

“We explained the whole process to them when they picked up the forms and we also double-checked the forms with them when they were handed over, just to make sure everything is in order,” Nguaiko explained.

“The names of the candidates will be published in the official gazette and then the ballot papers will be printed for the by-election,” he said.

Miner Willard Narib will be the sole independent candidate, while Rodger Dausab will represent Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF) and Leilani Pashecka will represent the People’s Democratic Movement (PDM).

The current Mayor of Swakopmund, Louisa Kativa, will represent the Independent Patriots for Change (IPC) while Swapo will also be represented by one of Swakopmund’s former mayors, Nehemiah Solomon. The United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate is Zerolda Dantu while Bernhard von Seydlitz is the United People’s Movement (UPM) candidate.

The Landless People’s Movement (LPM) initially indicated that retired teacher Elizabeth Smith would represent them, but made a last minute change and nominated Hilaria Musheka as their candidate.

Asked about the reason for the last-minute change yesterday, LPM spokesman Eneas Emvula said the management as a whole decided to open the competition to all members.

“The candidates were then tasked with presenting their response plan and Musheka turned out to be the best candidate as she was more youth-focused. However, it should be noted that this all happened before we submitted our nomination to the ECN,” he explained. He added that it was a considered decision and that there was mutual consensus among all party members.

Meanwhile, the ECN announced last week that the provisional voters list for Swakopmund constituency stands at 36,997, after the conclusion of the supplementary voter registration which took place earlier this month and recorded 1,716 eligible voters.

2022-07-04 Eveline de Klerk


Source link