Early voting for the second round of primary elections runs from May 16-20; here’s what’s on the ballot in Keller, Roanoke and Northeast Fort Worth

Early voting for the second round of the primaries runs from May 16-20. The second round of primary elections will take place on May 24. (File photo from Community Impact newspaper)

Early voting begins May 16 and ends May 20 for the May 24 run-off primary election. The winners of this election will advance to the November 8 general election.

On the ballot are three statewide offices for Republicans and four statewide offices for Democrats. There are also a handful of local and departmental races.

Under state law, voters who voted in the March 1 primary must vote in the second round of that same party’s election. Those who did not vote in the primary can vote in the Republican Party or Democratic Party runoff, according to a press release from the Texas secretary of state.

“The candidates you’ll be voting for have reached the final round of their party’s primary elections, and this is your chance to decide who you want to run for those public offices in November,” said Texas Secretary of State John Scott, in “Make sure you do your research on the candidates, make an informed decision, and prepare to make your voice heard in the election runoff by visiting www.votetexas.gov.”

In Tarrant and Denton counties, polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. May 16-20. Click here for polling places in Tarrant County, and Click here for polling places in Denton County.

Here are the candidates on the ballot for voters in the Keller, Roanoke and Northeast Fort Worth coverage area of Community Impact Journal:


Lieutenant Governor (Democrat): Michelle Beckley and Mike Collier

Attorney General (Republican): Ken Paxton (incumbent) and George P. Bush

Attorney General (Democrat): Joe Jaworski and Rochelle Mercedes Garza

Comptroller of Public Accounts (Democrat): Janet T. Dudding and Angel Luis Vega

Commissioner of the General Lands Board (Republican): Tim Westley and Dawn Buckingham

Commissioner of the General Land Office (Democrat): Sandgrace Martinez and Jay Kleberg

Railroad Commissioner (Republican): Wayne Christian (incumbent) and Sarah Stogner


United States House of Representatives, District 24 (Democrat): Derrik Gay and Jan McDowell

Texas State Representative, District 63 (Republican): Ben Bumgarner and Jeff Younger

Texas State Representative, District 91 (Republican): Stephanie Klick (starter) and David Lowe

Texas State Representative, District 93 (Republican): Laura Hill and Nate Schatzlin

Tarrant County

Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney (Republican): Matt Krause and Phil Sorrels

County Criminal Court Judge No. 5 (Republican): Grandma Johnson and Brad Clark

Source link