Confirmed candidates for the municipal elections

Candidates for the two Liverpool Council by-elections later this week have been confirmed.

Residents of Warbreck and Everton will go to the polls on Thursday April 7 to elect their new mayoral representatives. An election was called after Ian Byrne, Labor MP for West Derby, resigned from office in January after nearly four years.

Former councilor Cheryl Didsbury has resigned from her Warbreck seat after a seven-year stint on the red benches. Now, a full list of candidates for the votes, which will be held on the same day, has been confirmed.

READ MORE: A ‘committed pedophile’ subjected a girl to a ‘campaign of rape’

Labor had previously announced that Ellie Byrne would run for the Everton ward, following her selection by Liverpool Walton CLP. Kevin Robinson-Hale, a former Labor member, represents the Green Party in this week’s by-election.

They will be joined on the ballot by Roger Bannister, candidate for the Labor and Socialist Coalition. Mr Bannister was forced out by Labor in the 1980s and was previously mayor of Liverpool.

Steve Fitzsimmons will represent the Liberal Democrats while Angela Preston, who is described as “Steve Radford’s candidate” on the official notice of candidates, will represent the Liberal Party. Wendy Hine will try to become one of two possible Conservative Party members on Liverpool Council when she also contests the seat.

A total of four candidates will stand in Warbreck, with Sam East confirmed as the Labor Party’s hopeful early on. He is joined by Rebecca Lawson of the Green Party and Karen Afford for the Liberal Democrats.

Mark Butchard represents the Conservatives. A third by-election will be held in due course in Fazakerley after Lyndsay Melia resigned her seat at the end of March.

Labor remains the majority party in the council, with 63 of the 90 seats available. Polling stations will be open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Thursday.

Everton voters can go to the following polling stations: Everton Park Sports Centre, Great Homer Street; Central Breckfield, Ent: Breckfield Road North and Mere Lane; St Francis Xavier Church, Salisbury Street; Whitefield Primary School, Boundary Lane and Clock Community Centre, 107 St Domingo Road.

Those wishing to vote in Warbreck can do so at Orrell Park Baptist Church Hall; St. John’s Evangelist Church, Rice Lane; St. Nathanael’s Church, Fazakerley Road, and The Salvation Army, Cavendish Drive.

Source link